Samsara & Nirvana

Samsara is the cycles of birth-death- rebirth. Our current life is only one of many – stretching back before birth into past existences and reaching forward beyond death into future incarnations. During the course of each life the quality of the actions (karma) performed determine the future destiny of each person. The Buddha taught that there is no beginning or end to this cycle. Ignorance, of one’s true self that leads to false Ego-consciousness of the body and the phenomenal world. This grounds one in desire and the perpetual chain of Karma & reincarnation. Through egoism and desire one creates the causes for future becoming. The state of illusion that gives rise to this is known as Maya. is the worldly life characterized by continuous rebirths and reincarnations in various realms of existence.Saṃsāra is described as mundane existence, full of suffering and misery and hence is considered undesirable and worth renunciation. The Samsāra is without any beginning and the soul finds itself in bondage with its karma since the beginningless time Unity is the only liberation from samsāra. Yoga cosmology presents the constitution of the initiate (the microcosm) as an exact replica of the macrocosm. Consequently, the microcosm consists of a number of bodies, each one suited to interact with its corresponding plane or region in the macrocosm. These bodies developed over the yugas through involution and evolution

Nirvana is the final extrication of the soul or consciousness from samsara and the bringing to an end of all the suffering involved in being subject to the cycle of repeated death and rebirth. The word “enlightenment” alludes to a spiritual revelation or deep insight into the meaning and purpose of all things, communication with or understanding of the mind of God, profound spiritual understanding or a fundamentally changed consciousness whereby everything is perceived as a unity. Nirvana is a representation of freedom from desire and other worldly passions. Souls are held to enter many different bodies through the course of their existence. In each of the lives they lead they develop spiritually. The ultimate goal of this spiritual development is the liberation from the system of earthly suffering.
The attainment of liberation coincides with the realization of the unreality of ‘false localized identity’ or ego and the simultaneous revelation of the emptiness as the ever-existent self that is the Truth of Ajah, the source of all spiritual and phenomenal existence. Between sentient Awareness and insentient matter is an illusion formed in the mind. Moksha is the final release from this illusion, when one’s worldly conception of self is erased and there takes place a loosening of the shackle of experiential duality, accompanied by the realization of one’s own fundamental nature:
sat (true being),
Cit(pure awareness), and
Ananda (Bliss)
the experience which is beyond sensation yet feels good. moksa and Nirvana are defined as the same in Ajah. When a Jiva(individual) understands its oneness and loses all sence of self, it is released from the cycle of births and deaths, and achieves its pure self. It then becomes a Saint. Attaining Moksa requires annihilation of the habit of creating Karma , good and bad, because if karma is left, it must bear fruit. But Karma is only loosely connected with enlightenment as one who becomes enlightened uses up all the jiva’s karma, but if one rids oneself of all Karma , the Jiva will become enlightened…

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: